Wednesday, May 27, 2015

Indian states - Hyderabad - Rupee (1762-1950) - 1 Anna - Mir Usman Ali Khan - Y# 48

The Princely State of Hyderabad was founded around 1724, the State of Hyderabad was one of the largest Princely States in India and later came to be known as the 'Dominion of His Exalted Highness, the Nizam'. The State which covered territories presently included in Andhra Pradesh, Maharashtra, and Karnataka was assimilated into the Indian Union in September 1948. Hyderabad  struck coins independently and the new coins were termed the 'Hali Sicca', i.e., the current coins. In 1903-04 coins were machine struck for the first time. These coins featured the Charminar on the obverse with Persian inscription Nizam-ul-mulk Bahadur Asaf Jah around it. The reverse carried the value. These coins confirmed to the British coins in denominations and metals...........Source RBI online records!

Indian states - Hyderabad - Rupee (1762-1950) - 1 Anna - Mir Usman Ali Khan - Y# 48
Indian states - Hyderabad - Rupee (1762-1950) - 1 Anna - Mir Usman Ali Khan - Y# 48


Note: The date is situated in the lowest part of toughra.

Ruler: Mir Usman Ali Khan
1 Anna in 4 languages
Lettering: ١۳٣٨


Denomination in center
"Ek Anna" (one Anna) on left.
"Sikka Usmania" (Coin of Osmania) on right


Years 1338-1354 (1920-1935)
Calendar Islamic
Value 1 Anna (1/16)
Metal Copper-nickel
Weight 3.6 g
Diameter 21.2 mm
Shape Round
Orientation Medal alignment ↑↑
Demonetized yes

The Hyderabadi Rupee (Urdu: حيدرآبادى روپيہ‎, Marathi: हैदराबादी रुपया, Telugu: హైదరాబాది రూపాయి, Kannada: ) was the currency of the Hyderabad State from 1918 to 1959. It coexisted with the Indian rupee from 1950. Like the Indian rupee, it was divided into 16 annas, each of 12 pai. Coins were issued in copper (later bronze) for denominations of 1 and 2 pai and ½ anna, in cupro-nickel (later bronze) for 1 anna and in silver for 2, 4 and 8 annas and 1 rupee. Hyderabad was the only Indian princely state that was permitted to continue issuing its own notes after joining the Dominion of India in 1948 and the Republic of India in 1950.

No comments:

Post a Comment